The Resolution That Started It All

So, you may be wondering why I decided to start this blog. I’ve been wondering that, too. I knew that I wanted to make some changes in my lifestyle, and I couldn’t think of a way to actually commit to doing so. It hit me one day (today) that by sharing my struggles and successes with all of you, I may be more successful, and I might encourage some of you to start living a healthier life.

The resolution that is driving this blog came about as I was talking to my mom over Christmas break. I told her how I was expecting that I had gained some weight during the few months of school. I had been in college for six months (I took summer classes that started in July) and noticed that my clothes were fitting a little bit differently. I told her that I didn’t care; it was to be expected. However, I told her that I wanted to start making better choices. I often found myself eating ice cream nearly every day. I couldn’t help it; it was everywhere. I did not eat salad very often, and often settled for pepperoni rolls and a grilled cheese for dinner (because college food sucks, duh). I never thought about what I was eating, but I was determined to change that.

After thinking about that, I thought about my exercise schedule or lack thereof. In high school, I was a swimmer. I was not varsity material by any means, but it had been a form of exercise between the months of November and February. Here, there was nothing. I didn’t really go to the gym, because I was supposed to be studying and doing homework, even though I was actually surfing Facebook and Youtube. I decided that I would add some form of exercise to my resolutions.

After I got back to school, I grabbed a piece of paper and wrote down my goals. Along with the things I previously mentioned, I included things like “make bed everyday” (an easy one, since I was doing that anyway).

Here are my concrete goals for eating and exercising:
-10 situps (+5 a month), 1 minute wall sit (+5 seconds a month), and 5 pushups (+3 a month) every weekday.
-20 minutes of cardio every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.
-Ice cream once during a two-week period.

Those three goals are what I have so far. Hopefully, the more I get in shape, the more base exercises I can add to my list, and hopefully add a bit more cardio.

How have I been doing so far? Well, you’ll just have to wait for my end-of-the-month summary!

Share your resolutions with me in the comment section! Also, if you have any ideas for basic workout moves to build some muscle, let me know!!

This entry was posted in Exercise, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment